2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2001 
January February March April May June July August September October November December 

BTA Bank Announces the Results of Noteholders’ Meetings


Almaty, 22 March, 2012 – “BTA Bank” JSC (the “Bank”) is pleased to announce that in the meetings of Noteholders held on 21 March Noteholders approved candidates to serve as Creditor Directors on the Bank’s Board of Directors.

The following candidates were approved by Noteholders for nomination to serve on the Bank’s Board of Directors:

  • Mr. Sergey Babayan (as a Creditor Director on behalf of Senior Noteholders)
  • Mr. Jacek Brzezinski (as a Creditor Director on behalf of OID Noteholders)

The names of these nominees, together with the nominees for the two other vacancies on the Board will now be submitted for approval at the Extraordinary General Meeting of the Bank’s shareholders to be held on 11 April 2012. The other nominees are Mr. Ilkka Salonen, who has been nominated by the Bank as an independent director, and the Bank’s CEO designate, Mr. Yerik Balapanov, who has been nominated by JSC “Samruk-Kazyna”. Biographical information for all the nominees will be available on Monday 26 March 2012 on the Bank’s website, www.bta.kz.

Anvar Saidenov, Chairman of the Bank, commented:

“The management of the Bank welcomes these nominations and believes it is important that the Board should be fully representative of creditors and other stakeholders. We urge all shareholders and GDR holders to submit their votes to the EGM as soon as possible to ensure that their views are reflected at the meeting. As we have discussed with the Steering Committee, it is very important to the Bank that its Board of Directors becomes fully constituted yet again as soon as possible.”

Media contacts:

BTA Bank
Tel.: +7(727) 266 47 99
E-mail: pr@bta.kz